Eclipse - the IDE - why do we use it?
So you want an Integrated Development Environment?
You don't want to spend any money?
You want something simple or you're doing Java development?
Hey you want Eclipse right?
Go on, it's G R E A T . .. . .. . .. h o n e s t
...
...
So it's a few months later....
You've had a few crashes....
You've put up with them...
You've seen the bugs in the Eclipse Bugzilla https://bugs.eclipse.org/bugs/
To be honest I've seen them, I think they do all their development sat next to the servers with a 1GB connection. Because I have no end of trouble trying to update, trying to get plugins all sorts. Takes forever.
Also, another favourite, the constant "refreshing workspace" and constant deadlock while it is building or validating HTML. It's kinda useless, given how rubbish those validators are. I write some fairly complex JavaScript and HTML5, none have ever validated by Eclipse, but my code is very valid. And jquery.min.js - don't make me laugh.
I am not submitting a bug every time it hangs on a thread. Give us the god damn ability to kill, actually actively kill, the hung thread, kill the 'refreshing workspace' or the 'validating HTML' process that's hung.
I don't care if you think it's unsafe to kill a thread. I have to kill the whole program. It's far more unsafe to "kill -9" the whole of Eclipse than it is to kill a single thread.
So, I have to restart Eclipse, it's not reset it back to how it was before I even started work...
.... can I now bill Eclipse for all the work lost? Oh no wait, Licence agreement. What about when we actually ask you to implement a feature but you just immediately set it to "Won't fix"? Plenty of people have asked for it but you just refuse. Typical open source "We like it how we've got it"... not wait it's the "**** off and live it with." licence agreement.
I nearly lost it today, when for no good reason, Eclipse just started refreshing the workspace, in the middle of a lengthy debugging session and it just hung. I had to kill it all, and it took the server with it. I was rather ****** off. I wanted to have a discussion with the person who marked the bug on bugzilla as "Won't fix".